Chubbs Indie

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Chubbs Indie

As I mentioned in Mal's Author thread, I'm looking to start getting some schooling in programming. I know we have a strong base of programmers, artists, and other essential personel here already. So, I think to myself, "Self, you have at hand a community of creative, driven, and talented folks. Is it such a big jump to turn a community of writers and artists into a game development group?"

And, of course, the answer is no. And while I have no programming experience outside of basic stuff and binary/hexadecimal, I'm eager to start learning quick and plan to get me some study materials from the internets. So, I suppose the purpose of this would be to ask who would be interested in working on making some games? If so, what skills and talents do you bring to the table?

And don't sell yourself short, any of you. Even the ability to beta test is a skill that's useful in creating a game. Of course, artists and programmers would be optimal, but I'd love if we could get every single person on the site into a project into the future.
    • Chubbs Indie

A lot more than just programming goes into making a game. Script writing, world-building, scenarios, character development, plot, theme; Those are all parts of making an immersive game that requires little more than a creative mind. For those who can draw, character portraits, cutscenes, models, etc. There's all sorts of places in a development team for those who add 1 and 1 and get 3.
    • Chubbs Indie

99% of making a game is programming. There really isn't that much that goes into it other than code, and anything that we make is going to be simple enough that one person can design and implement it.

That said, I'm down. I've been looking for an excuse to make something.

Mal Nova wrote: